The Best Contests for Self-Published Authors

Book contests offer extra exposure, recognition, and the chance to claim “award-winning” during your marketing efforts  as well as the chance to win cash and prizes.  Here are the Book Contests I recommend for Self-Published Authors:




Benjamin Franklin Awards

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, which includes fifty-five categories recognizing excellence in both editorial and design, is regarded as one of the highest national honors in small and independent publishing.

$190 for first title, which includes one year’s membership in IBPA;

$90 per title, per category for second and subsequent entries.


indie-book-awardsIndie Book Awards

The largest not-for-profit awards program for independent publishers including self-published authors. The top 60 books will be forwarded to a leading literary agent for review and possible representation.

Fee: $75



Readers Favorite

Readers Favorite is the fastest growing book review and award contest site on the Internet. The annual Reader Views Literary Awards were established to honor writers who self-published or had their books published alternatively by a self-publishing company.  You can win this esteemed literary award as well thousands of dollars in marketing support

Early Bird (January 1) $45

Regular Fee: $65




USA Book News

The  Annual USA Best Book Awards are specifically designed to not only garner MEDIA COVERAGE & BOOK SALES for the winners & finalists but to PROMOTE awarded books to the PUBLISHING & ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES!

Open to self-published book in all categories.

Fee:  $69




Writer’s Digest Self –Published Book Awards

This is the only self-published competition exclusively for self-published books sponsored by Writers Digest. They offer over $17,000 in cash and prizes

Early Bird (April 1) Entry fees are $100 for the first entry, and $75 for each additional entry.

Fee $75

3 thoughts on “The Best Contests for Self-Published Authors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>